Read McKenna, Ready to Fly! by Mary Casanova Online

mckenna-ready-to-fly

When Seattle fourth-grader McKenna Brooks’ cast comes off she dives back into gymnastics training in hopes of making the competitive team, but after volunteering at a therapeutic horseback riding center, she considers broadening her interests.After McKenna suffers an injury that causes her to worry about her place on the Shooting Star competitive gymnastics team, she triesWhen Seattle fourth-grader McKenna Brooks’ cast comes off she dives back into gymnastics training in hopes of making the competitive team, but after volunteering at a therapeutic horseback riding center, she considers broadening her interests.After McKenna suffers an injury that causes her to worry about her place on the Shooting Star competitive gymnastics team, she tries to help her tutor, Josie, overcome her fear of horseback riding, but as McKenna and Josie become closer friends, one of McKenna's teammates gets jealous....

Title : McKenna, Ready to Fly!
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781593699956
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 128 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

McKenna, Ready to Fly! Reviews

  • Alyssa Hanks
    2019-03-03 04:45

    McKena, Ready to Fly! by Mary Casanova is a continuation to the book McKenna about a gymnast who broke her ankle during a gymnastics showcase two months before competitive team tryouts. McKenna had been struggling in school so Mr.With brought her a tutor who McKenna is continuing to do well with, her grades are also really good with all the time to focus on school because she is not doing gymnastics while injured. Also her friends found out that she was lying to them about extra practice and they found out she was actually being tutored. It took a while but in the end her friends and teammates forgave her. McKenna had been focusing on one day, the day she would get her cast removed. Marking every day down on the calendar McKenna realizes the date getting her cast removed is coming soon, she is very excited. The day had finally came and McKenna was getting her cast off. Has she healed? Will she be able to keep her grades up if she can do gymnastics? Will she make the competitive team? Will she continue to have a tutor that has become her friend? Have all these questions answered by reading McKenna, Ready to Fly by Mary Casanova.

  • Marian
    2019-03-04 06:37

    My only real problem with the McKenna books is that one of the big plot points involves McKenna's friend, Toulane, being rather snitty towards McKenna. Instead of ever talking to Toulane (whom I assumed was her friend outside of gymnastics)... McKenna just sort of wonders idly why Toulane might be upset with her when she shows interest in other things... usually after observing Toulane's incredibly overbearing mother be incredibly overbearing. :P Also, McKenna never seems to hang out with her friends outside of school or the gym (or, once it's introduced, the riding center) and never talks to Toulane about her sister's accident.Honestly, McKenna's kind of a bad friend in a lot of respects. Which isn't all that unusual in that she's at a certain stage in her life where a lot of things are going on and she's only so old so there's really only so much she can do up to a point. I'm not really sure younger kids would pick up on this or that it was intentional. Anyway, McKenna's books are cute and fairly solid, friendship not withstanding, and immensely readable.

  • Cassy J.
    2019-02-26 03:04

    i think mckenna ready to fly was also a good book. i liked the first book a little better though. mckenna became really good friends with her turor, josie. josie is not able to walk and is only able to get around in a wheelchair. mckenna helps Josie a lot and josie has always wanted to go horseback riding but with her disibility, Josie thinks its inpossible. Mckenna is very optimistic and helped josie become more confident and decided to try riding a horse. josie ended up doing pretty well on the horse. also, becuase of gymnasitcs, mckenna gets injured and tries to gain her strength and courgage in hopes to make it back to gymnastics to make it into the competitive team. i think that mary cassanova is a wonderful writer and some of her books are mainly about people with disabilities. (i think that the message the author is trying to get across is children/people with disabilites are just like everybody else) i would definitally recommend this to girls, especially gymnasts and people who find it hard to believe in themself.

  • Breely
    2019-02-23 23:38

    The books were vwry good. I would recommend them to everyone.The only thing that upset me was the book and movie had some different things and deletwd amd added things.

  • Makenna
    2019-03-10 06:41

    This book was awesome for sure 5 stars

  • Katie Fitzgerald
    2019-03-02 23:52

    This is a review of both books in the McKenna series.American Girl’s Girl of the Year 2012 is McKenna Brooks. In addition to a doll, which can be purchased on the American Girl website, there are also two books about this character: McKenna and McKenna, Ready to Fly! Both books are set in Seattle, Washington, and their storylines revolve around McKenna's struggles balancing her strong interest in gymnastics with the rest of her life, including friendships, family, and school.In McKenna, McKenna's fourth grade teacher discovers she has trouble with reading comprehension and assigns her a tutor named Josie. Josie uses a wheelchair, a fact which makes McKenna nervous at first, until she realizes that having a disability doesn't mean Josie isn't capable in every other way. McKenna is still embarrassed that she needs a tutor, though, and must face the consequences when she can't tell her friends the truth. In McKenna, Ready to Fly!, McKenna works on gaining her strength back after an injury, in the hopes of making the competitive gymnastics team. She also helps Josie overcome her fear of horseback riding and begins volunteering at the stables where Josie rides as a means of adding balance to her life.Both these books have the same wholesome sense of right and wrong as every other book published by American Girl, but as compared with last year's books about Kanani Akina, they come across as preachy. The "people with disabilities are just like everyone else" message is certainly valuable, but the way it's delivered in these stories is so heavy-handed and condescending. I love that the books involve a girl who uses a wheelchair, but why does her role in the story have to be to teach us that people who can't walk are people too? Do kids really not know this? And if they don't, would it not be more effective to show them through a character's actions, rather than have the characters spout forced platitudes? The second book handles the issue a little better than the first, but the tone never completely loses that annoying patronizing quality.That major criticism aside, though, the books combine two topics beloved by many 9- and 10-year old girls - gymnastics and horseback riding. There are plenty of descriptions related to both sports, so that fans and participants of both will be equally satisfied. There is also a good amount of conflict among girlfriends, but very few boys anywhere in the story. The focus is really on McKenna's decisions and how they affect her immediate circle of friends, and on making a difference to the world, even if it means stepping outside one's comfort zone.I like Mary Casanova's storytelling style, and I felt like I got to know McKenna's character really well. Parents who seek out books devoid of angst, kissing, and superficial concerns will find the McKenna books a welcome alternative to some of the heavier middle grade books out there, and a nice contemporary read-alike for American Girl's historical novels. I prefer the Kanani books, because I think the characters and setting in those were better-developed, but the McKenna books are solid stories as well.

  • QNPoohBear
    2019-03-13 23:38

    McKenna is so excited to finally be getting her cast off on Friday, but then Josie reveals that she plans to conquer her fear of horseback riding on Friday and McKenna volunteers to go with Josie. That means pushing back her doctor's appointment which makes Toulane even more grouchy than usual. McKenna loves the therapeutic riding center where Josie learns to ride. McKenna discovers that her gymnastics training and friendship with Josie have given her the best attitude for helping people with disabilities learn to ride. She enjoys the people and the feeling she gets when she's volunteering and suddenly, gymnastics doesn't seem so important anymore. McKenna realizes that she's found a nice balance between gymnastics, school, friendship and volunteering at the riding center. Toulane on the other hand is so focused on gymnastics that she's stopped speaking to McKenna or thinking about anyone else. Can McKenna help her friend find balance too? Can all of McKenna's friends get along? Who will make the competitive team?This book bears a strong resemblance to Bravo, Mia but I found it less interesting because it was so focused on gymnastics and therapeutic horseback riding neither of which interest me. McKenna is too perky and optimistic for me but that's a personal preference. She seems a bit too wise for a ten-year-old. The writing isn't bad. The message comes through loud and clear in a hit you over the head way. The illustrations are slightly better. McKenna looks 10 but Toulane still looks 19. In the final illustration, McKenna looks like Shawn Johnson. Coincidence?

  • Kadee
    2019-02-17 07:39

    I think the book McKenna, Ready to Fly is a good book for anyone. The book is about a girl named McKenna a 4th grader who loves gymnastics, but when one day she brakes her leg from doing a flip at a competition. When she gets a cast on her leg she is sacred that she will never be able to do gymnastics anymore. When she meets a girl named Jocie all her hopes come again and she has made one of her closest friends. The one thing is that Jocie is in a wheelchair permanently. McKenna helps her through these hard times and always puts a smile on Jocie's face. To see what happens to their friend ship once McKenna get's her cast off if they stay friends or not you will just have to read the book to find out about that.

  • Sarah
    2019-03-02 07:01

    This was a great book because it was very descriptive and based on a great story. It's a simple read with not too hard vocabulary. I recomend this book to 4th and 5th grade girls. This book is about a girl named Makenna, who is an amazing gymnast who has great friends but she thinks there friendship is slowly ending and is trying to fix it. Meanwhile she fell behind in school and now has a toutor but her toutor is also her best friend, now her toutor is going to a horse back riding place and Makenna is volentering out there now.

  • Beth Pond
    2019-02-24 23:41

    I didn't fall head-over-heals with McKenna like I did with Mia. There were times when the narrative seemed spot on and other times, mostly in the dialogue, where the kids sounded very inauthentic. Also, while I appreciate that McKenna has a friend in a wheelchair and feel that disabilities were handled carefully, respectfully and tactfully in the novel, it seemed like the numerous references to Josie being in a wheelchair and being disabled made her a bit of a token.

  • Reagan
    2019-03-05 07:45

    It is a few days until McKenna gets her cats off! She is so excited. When Josie, McKenna's tutor is going on horseback, she changes her appointment to get her cast off to Monday. McKenna is very nervous about the gymnastics tournament. She is afraid that she won't make it to the team. This book is so good! It comes right after the book where McKenna breaks her ankle. You she read that book and then this one because they both are so good.

  • Michelle
    2019-03-09 00:36

    A book that teaches the value of friendship, hard work, and compassion is a big winner in our house! McKenna works hard to get back to her dream of being on the competitive team while learning to balance friendships and school work too. She use her gifts to help others and finds value in teamwork and friendship.

  • Cara
    2019-02-27 05:51

    After all of McKenna's struggles in the previous book and everything she learns, I must admit I was pretty psyched to read this one. I don't think this one was as good, though. Somehow in this book, all the problems seem like really not that big a deal, and McKenna overcomes them with way too much grace and wisdom. It all seems too easy. Still a fun book, though.

  • Gracie
    2019-02-24 01:01

    this book is so inspiring. if you think your life is hard, this book will make you think again. mckenna made me realize that i'm not the only one struggling with life's grasps.i'm along side many others that look as cool as me. but instead on the inside we're all just nervous,tired,desperate people and we're not alone.

  • Kristine Hansen
    2019-03-01 23:51

    I like how this story shifts more onto Josie as she decides to try horsebackriding. Seeing McKenna come through for her friend is heartwarming and made her a lot more likable. I was sorry that the series ended here.

  • Kaetlyn
    2019-03-17 05:51

    I like the book. I like that McKenna wants to go with Josie to Hearts and Horses. I like when she goes there when ever she can. I like that she makes the competitive team and still goes to Hearts and Horses.

  • Connie
    2019-03-17 04:36

    An American Girl gymnast must overcome an ankle injury, fear relating to physically-challenged children, anxiety over gymnastic tryouts, and emotional separation from a friend. She does all this with grace and helps others to do the same.

  • Daniela Moreno
    2019-03-12 06:04

    Such a great book adored it

  • Hannah
    2019-03-13 05:01

    It was an awesome book! I think the challenges McKenna faces are extremely realistic and I think I can relate. This book is geared toward 9-to-10-year-old girls.

  • Katrina
    2019-03-14 05:46

    One more fun kids book. Now, back to the regularly scheduled reading material!

  • Elizabeth Bornstein
    2019-03-14 07:42

    I loved this book. I Could not wait to see what would happen next. I was so sad it was all over. I would def recommend this book to friends.

  • Helen Lukens
    2019-03-14 02:04

    I read these books along with a darling nine- year- old girl and we both loved them.

  • Superreader200
    2019-02-20 00:42

    I love gymnastics too!!

  • Emily
    2019-02-26 03:36

    Definitely one of my favorite American girls of the year!

  • Elizabeth
    2019-02-16 05:35

    2012 Am Girl. Discusses overcoming obstacles, disabilities, and therapy riding.

  • Desaraeoneal
    2019-02-24 05:01

    i never got to read it so idk so lol

  • Ashley
    2019-03-14 07:36

    I'm surprised this wasn't already on my Goodreads! I just read it for the 2nd time. Still super cute!

  • emma grace
    2019-03-15 04:47

    These two books really left no impression on me. They just keep getting worse...

  • Laura
    2019-03-12 04:51

    this book wasn't nearly as good as the first book but it was ok.

  • Tara
    2019-03-06 03:43

    I have many American girl dolls (including McKenna ) and I hope this book is good! I look forward to reading it!